COST Membership

COST Staff

Meet the COST staff and find out what they can do for you!

COST Board

Find out who sits on the COST Board.

professor rick pomp awarded for excellence in state taxation by cost

Hollywood, Florida (October 21, 2014) – This week COST presented the 6th Annual COST Paul Frankel Excellence in State Taxation Award to Professor Richard D. Pomp, Alva P. Loiselle Professor of Law at the University of Connecticut, during COST's 45th Annual Meeting in Hollywood, Florida. Over 550 state and local tax professionals from major corporations and practitioner firms acknowledged this year’s recipient with a resounding standing ovation.

The COST/Paul H. Frankel Excellence in State Taxation Award was initiated in 2009 by COST to honor Morrison & Foerster’s Paul Frankel, and is presented annually to an individual in recognition of outstanding and continuing contributions to the state and local tax profession. 

Richard Pomp, a graduate of Harvard Law School, has dedicated his academic career to the teaching and study of tax law. An internationally known expert on state and local taxation, he is the author of State and Local Taxation, a casebook used in more than 100 law schools and translated into several languages. Pomp has also taught tax law at Harvard, New York University, the University of Texas and Boston College. As author of more than 100 articles, his views on tax law are regularly solicited by local, state and national and international media. He has been described by State Tax Notes as “the most knowledgeable person on state corporate income taxation in the country.”

“Professor Pomp has earned the respect and admiration of both the business community and state tax administrators,” said Doug Lindholm, President & Executive Director of COST. “That is quite an accomplishment in an area often defined by continuing and often contentious litigation. We are pleased to present the Award to such a deserving recipient.”

Paul Frankel, the well-known SALT litigator often described as “the godfather of state and local taxation,” was the inaugural recipient of the eponymous Award.  Mr. Frankel plays an active role in the selection process for future recipients in collaboration with the COST Board of Directors.  Past recipients include Paul Frankel (2009), Marilyn Wethekam (2010), James Buresh (2011), Chuck Drury (2012) and Maureen Pechacek (2013).